Book Club Review: The Husband’s Secret

The Husband's Secret

Though I do typically enjoy reading, it oftentimes takes a back seat to other hobbies of mine when I stumble across free time. Luckily, my friends from my former employer enjoyed reading and always shared great recommendations with me and began a ladies book club.

Over the course of about three years, the book club attendees have rotated based on work and baby schedules, and many times only one or two people even read the book. But, the nice thing is that it gives a group of really awesome ladies an excuse to get together. And, they still think to invite me even after I left work to become a stay at home mom. Plus, calling this get-together “Book Club” makes us sound intellectual, ha.

Everyone pitches in with varying dinner/wine items and for me, there were two food-related highlights. First, our wonderful host, Kim’s, tortilla soup. I’ve already made it TWICE since then and have shared it with many friends. It is super easy, feeds a large group, freezes well, and smells/tastes great. Definitely recommend and it can be found HERE on http://www.beautifulfight.com.

The second highlight, if I can be so bold to say, was the cookie recipe I found on Pinterest. Brown Butter Salted Caramel Mocha Cookies. My mouth is watering just thinking about them. My husband and I decided it was the all-time best cookie I have ever made. Like, ever. And I bake a LOT. The biggest problem we had was that we ate so many of them within a week that I barely ate any real food and probably gained three pounds. Whoops.  The recipe can be found HERE if you feel like indulging.

So, back to the book. Last month, our book was The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty. At the time of the gathering, I had purchased the book and read about 50 pages of it. With a six month old baby at home, I was pleased with my progress.

Thanks to Cooper taking an hour long nap today (and counting) and allowing me enough time to whip up this blog post, I finished it. Hey everybody, I FINISHED A BOOK!

The author, Liane, is Australian, and she provides fun vocabulary and a different perspective that our typical American lingo. The book is not too heavy but still deals with some serious topics. The story follows the lives of multiple women in Sydney, Australia, that slightly intersect in the beginning and then basically hit head on at the end. I’d guess they’re in their 30’s and 40’s and all have kids. Each of the characters is very relatable and I loved the way I felt like I could hear these women talking as if they were one of my own friends. At times I chuckled out loud and even cried a time or two.

I give it 4.5 out of 5 stars – highly recommend for women that enjoy novels that are quick to read with great characters and family/sister types of themes.

Thanks to these lovely ladies for giving me a great night out!

– Abigail –

PS- My Pinterest board, “Ab’s Sweets Factory” has 200+ baking recipes if you’re ever looking for inspiration!

Leave a Reply

